Yello's Gaming Journal

← Back


September 13, 2024 - Next-gen dread

I remember feeling so left out back in 2018 because I was missing out on the Switch hype. All I wanted was to feel included, but due to my incredibly narrow mindset, I didn't think to save up for it. So I pretty much accepted that I wouldn't be getting this console for a long while. I was literally gonna wait until one magically fell onto my lap. Funnily enough, it actually DID! At the end of 2018, my sister generously gifted me a Switch for Christmas because I'm pretty sure she knew I had a rough year. So then I fully sunk my teeth into the Switch ecosystem, starting with Smash Ultimate and Mario Odyssey.

Over time, I slowly acquired staples like Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, Splatoon 2, Tears of the Kingdom, and so, so, so much more. I don't think I've had this many games in one console before. And being able to experience the hype cycles of each new release in real time was exhilirating. As I grew up into a young adult, I became more aware of the online consensus of the next new thing. The community felt more passionate than ever. Even though the constant chatter can be much at times, I was just happy to be part of a thriving console generation, especially after the strange 3DS and Wii U days.

But now that the Switch life cycle is winding down, I'm kinda developing a sense of dread whenever the Switch's successor inevitably gets announced. People don't know when yet, but the rumors suggest sometime in 2025, which is a year from now. While I've had 6 beautiful years with this console, I'm still not tired of it. There are still so many Switch games that I own that I still haven't fully played. Even the retro games on Nintendo Switch Online continue to entice me, despite my constantly fragmented attention. I usually end up playing Splatoon or Pokémon by default, but that's neither here nor there. :)

While I'm saving up for PAX East 2025, I have a backup plan of saving for the Switch successor using my leftover budget, so at least I won't be waiting around for it to magically show up again. The chances of that happening are pretty slim nowadays. No one knows what Nintendo's next step will be, but based on their strategic moves throughout the original Switch generation, I think we're in good hands. But I know that I'm gonna miss the Switch generation for really uniting fans in one place to play almost any Nintendo game you could think of. It felt like this massive hub in the modern age of gaming. And I'm gonna be sad to see it go.

A successor will inevitably create a wedge between the old and the new, so I guess I better finally beat that Splatoon 3 story mode at some point...

Thanks for reading this. © Yello's Island 2024 or something idk