Yello's Gaming Journal

← Back


August 15, 2024 - Brain-off games

You know how people complain that games these days are too easy? Sometimes, I kinda need those whenever life gets too stressful. Right now, I'm at a stage where I can only handle one big game at a time, but with the snail's pace I'm at, I would need to play multiple games at once to really tackle my backlog. It probably doesn't help that I'm playing through like 5 games simultaneously, but thankfully most of them are Pokémon games, AKA the "press A to win" titles. But the crazy thing is, despite dividing my attention this much, I feel like I'm making a lot more progress now.

When I'm playing through a meaty game like Tears of the Kingdom or TTYD, I specifically need to immerse myself in that universe to remember what I was doing. With brain-off games like Pokémon, I can tackle multiple games to feel more accomplished without the mental commitment. I basically try my best to play a little of each game every day. Shocking, I know. As someone who chronically procrastinates even his hobbies, I always underestimate playing even 15 minutes a day. With a backlog as big as mine, I very much appreciate an easy ride here and there.

Thanks for reading this. © Yello's Island 2024 or something idk